Fruitchick1's Blog

02/14/2019

I’m such a produce geek! (I mean, aficionado)

Filed under: Uncategorized — fruitchick1 @ 1:45 am

At the small organic store near my office I stood in the produce section, mesmerized by the display. Considering that my job of 3 decades is selling produce and I have ADD, you might think I’d be bored by now. Heck, I am stunned that I’m still as fascinated and in love with fresh produce as I was helping my grandfather pick green beans in the garden.

It struck me that I was standing there as most people do in a museum in front of a work of art. Head tilted, feet planted, and trying to take it all in.

Perhaps the produce to art simile is an apt one, as the colors, shadings, arrangements, shapes and sizes all contribute to the impact of the collections of so many fruits and veggies.

I haven’t been to a “real” museum in ages, but every trip to the store provides the opportunity to feast my eyes on some of Nature’s masterpieces.

On your next visit, take a moment to appreciate the splendor in the produce department before you simply check “baby peeled carrots” off your list!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.